Elected Officials

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Council2015

Pictured left to right: Mayor Pro Tem Albert Yount, Jim Steele, Mayor J.B. Lawrence, Ray Pickett, Sue Sweeting, Doug Matheson

Email addresses: 

Mayor Charlie Sellers -  csellers@tobr.us

Mayor Pro-Tem Albert Yount - ayount@tobr.us

Councilman Doug Matheson - dmatheson@tobr.us

Councilman Jim Steele - jsteele@tobr.us

Councilwoman Sue Sweeting - ssweeting@tobr.us

Councilwoman Virginia Powell - vpowell@tobr.us

 

 

Council Members

Mayor Charlie Sellers

828-295-5200
Email

Sworn into office December, 2017.  His current term will expire in 2019.

191Doug Matheson

828-295-5200
Email

Sworn into office December, 2009, and re-elected in 2017, His current term will expire in December, 2021.

Virginia Powell

828-295-5200
Email

Sworn into office in December 2017. Her current term will expire in December, 2021.

254Jim Steele

828-295-5200
Email

Sworn into office in December, 2015. His current term will expire in December, 2019. Mr. Steele previously served on the Blowing Rock Town Council from December, 2009 through December, 2013.

236Sue Sweeting

828-295-5200
Email

Sworn into office in December, 2013 and re-elected in 2017, Her current term will expire in December, 2021.

184Albert Yount

828- 295-5200
Email

Albert Yount is a native of Newton in Catawba County, NC and is former chairman of the Catawba County Board of Elections, Chairman of the Hickory Regional Planning Commission and is a retired member of the Newton Fire Department. He served an active duty tour in the US Navy and has a degree in History/Government from Lenoir Rhyne University in Hickory, NC.

Mr. Yount has been a Blowing Rock resident since 1995. He is a member of the Blowing Rock Historical Society Board and served as a member of the Blowing Rock Planning Board for six years.

Mr. Yount received the Order of the Long Leaf Pine presented to him by Governor Jim Hunt.

Mr. Yount was sworn into office December 2011. He was re-elected in December, 2015. His current term will expire in December, 2019.

The following is an organizational chart that depicts the position and responsibility of the Town Council within the Town governmental structure:

Elected Offical

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer