Elected Officials

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option



LW20-7752 Town Council

Pictured left to right: Mayor Pro-Tem Sue Sweeting, David Harwood, Mayor Charlie Sellers, Doug Matheson, Albert Yount, Virginia Powell

Email addresses: 

Mayor Charlie Sellers -  csellers@tobr.us

Mayor Pro-Tem Sue Sweeting - ssweeting@tobr.us

Councilman Albert Yount - ayount@tobr.us

Councilman Doug Matheson - dmatheson@tobr.us

Councilman David Harwood - dharwood@tobr.us 

Councilwoman Virginia Powell - vpowell@tobr.us



Council Members

191Mayor Charlie Sellers


Mayor Sellers lived in Blowing Rock during his school age years

Attended Blowing Rock Elementary, Riverside Military Academy, Watauga High and Appalachian State

Married to Deatra Sellers, they have a blended family of 4 children and 6 grandchildren

24 years: Regional Manager for Rochester Midland Corp Fortune 500 Company, overseeing industrial and environmental applications. 

4 years: Proprietor of the Blowing Rock Attraction

Blowing Rock Rotary Citizen of the year 2016-2017

Resource committee, Blowing Rock Chamber

Board of Directors, Blowing Rock Historical Society

Sworn into office December, 2017, and re-elected in 2019.  His current term will expire in 2021.

191Doug Matheson


Doug was raised in Blowing Rock.  He is a proud stepfather, grandfather, great grandfather and is a husband to Barbara.  He is the retired Fire Chief of Blowing Rock with 30 years of service.  He serves on the High Country Council of Governments, Watauga County Parks and Recreation, the tax and finance committee for the N.C. League of Municipalities, Blowing Rock TDA, and the Executive Board for Blowing Rock Fire and Rescue.   

Sworn into office December, 2009, and re-elected in 2013 and 2017, His current term will expire in December, 2021.

LW20-7762 Virginia

 Virginia Powell


Sworn into office in December 2017. Her current term will expire in December, 2021.

LW20-7716 DavidDavid Harwood


Sworn into office in December 2019. His current term will expire in December 2023. 

191Sue Sweeting


Sworn into office in December, 2013 and re-elected in 2017, Her current term will expire in December, 2021.

184Albert Yount

828- 295-5200

Albert is a native of Newton in Catawba County, NC and is former chairman of the Catawba County Board of Elections, Chairman of the Hickory Regional Planning Commission and is a retired member of the Newton Fire Department. He served an active duty tour in the US Navy and has a degree in History/Government from Lenoir Rhyne University in Hickory, NC.

Mr. Yount has been a Blowing Rock resident since 1995. He is a member of the Blowing Rock Historical Society Board and served as a member of the Blowing Rock Planning Board for six years.

Mr. Yount received the Order of the Long Leaf Pine presented to him by Governor Jim Hunt.

Mr. Yount was sworn into office December 2007. He was re-elected in 2011, 2015 and 2019. His current term will expire in December, 2023.

The following is an organizational chart that depicts the position and responsibility of the Town Council within the Town governmental structure:

Elected Offical

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer